tangle

Saturday, November 13th, 2010

tangle Today’s primary chore is to tidy this mess of wires that lurk beneath my desk and make all this stuff work sometimes. Getting a photograph from phone into a blog is not as straightforward as it might be, reinforcing my prejudice that WordPress is baroque i.e. over-featured. The driver for untangling this mess is the imminent arrival of the Virgin person with the new modem that will take me up to 50Mb which I think, hope will be a wothwhile investment of my limited resources. The line to the Virgin call centre was of such poor audio quality that I don’t know whether I agreed to an installation date of the 13th (today)  or the 30th. Duh, perhaps it would be a good idea to do some untangling right now, just in case 🙂  Once the new box has arrived, been installed and the Virgin person has gone, there will be a seriously  geeky chore of rewriting the box’s firmware to replace the Virgin settings so that the box can do everything it’s designed to without the Virgin imposed restrictions.  Massive displacement activity, now trying to install WordPress on this machine, no success so far. Grrr! No sign of installer so far, wonder if I can safely go to the shop for essential weekend supplies. Two upsides so far, now I know how to insert a picture into a blog and also how to edit in full screen, small victories but every little helps. Now taking the extreme measure of cranking up the XP machine really just to see what WordPress is like as a local application and thus find out whether it’s worth hunting down an OpenSUSE 11.3 version. of course the only problem with the XP box is the time it takes to do anything and the fact that windoze software requires a restart after doing anything. Not the only one it seems, there is a Facebook page called Properly Coiled Cables – I am not the only one. Watching the recently AVG firewall pop up every few seconds to tell me about yet another access to the internet is slightly diverting and highly educational. And now Picasa wants to update itself, I think that enough is enough and as soon as I have checked for iPhone updates, I will turn the nerd into a Linux machine (downloading Ubuntu 10.10 Maverick Meerkat now) Except for one minor detail, Dell do not publish non-windoze drivers fro the V305 printer I have but a quick Google has suggested a Lexmark equivalent that will do the job and I can’t remember the last time I printed anything.  Now working out how to insert photographs

  1. get photograph onto your hard disk
  2. use the upload/insert option (between Get Shortlink and the font buttons above this edit box)
  3. WTF! attempting upload crashes the browser
  4. https://redundantprinter.files.wordpress.com/2010/11/screens3.png is the picture I’m trying to use, the link shows that I have uploaded it to WordPress but still it won’t appear properly
  5. as ever, a sudden outburst of RTFMing did the trick http://en.support.wordpress.com/images/

tangle Hooray, something worked but I don’t think that hand-coding html really counts as working, more of a massive cheat. Firefox and Konqueror won’t even let me edit!? Perhaps it’s time to do something completely different and see if the nerd is going to manage to run Ubuntu 10.10 Maverick Meerkat and if the photo insertion works there. Not at first attempt, nerd hung up with updates but is significantly quicker than with  XP (have to ask if Firefox deliberately makes Google Chrome downloading difficult. Result, now have Chrome on nerd, apparently now all I need is a WordPress client. Now very confused – no idea how to enable editing anywhere except here. Aha Aha. Aha! One thing sorted – unlike other web based applications, WordPress only permits updates from one machine at a time. Still haven’t wprked out how to insert picture directly, time to watch  a more distant screen, nearly time for The Pillars of the Earth, catching up with Casualty on iPlayer Hooray! At last I’ve managed to upload and post another picture without any html daring-do. I suppose the next task will be to get the printer working but that will cause serious brain ache, no quick click and go so best left for the morrow 🙂 Also, image handling seems to be rather too good at crashing the browser, am losing track of the versions littering some disk somewhere on the planet.

And the eventual result of all this nerdy pratting around is to have achieved a Windows free household! Time for sleep methinks.

8 comments on “tangle

  1. titflasher says:

    No you are definitely not! Mine are pretty good at the moment but it only takes a couple of cats … not something I recommend, obviously and for this reason, my PC is off at the wall unless I am on it.

    Please tell me how you put a photo on – I have been trying to do this for ages!!!

  2. warriet says:

    will try and do it again and remember how I did it this time 🙂

  3. titflasher says:

    Yes please :-))

  4. Comfort says:

    WHOOP WHOOP!!!!!!! You finally defenestrated windoze from the flat 🙂

Leave a Reply

